Healthcare IT Security

February 28, 2006

Are programmers overpaid? Are doctors?

Filed under: Uncategorized — healthcaresecurityguy @ 10:34 am

A post on Joel on Software,asks if programmers and doctors are overpaid. Here’s the link.

my take on the same

Before I start I should state a few facts. I spend my time in medical school and have a degree in medicine. These days I am pursuing my PhD in information security. I have been working on information security more or less since I left medical school. I am hoping that I might be able to bring out a balanced view.

Firstly training a doctor someone pays, if you are damn good some univeristy would give put up with the bills(read-I didnt pay my bills). Else you pay for it, so doctors see this as an investment and indirectly creates a barrier.

Secondly more training you need you would have to jump through more hoops (read more exams and competition)hence the question of supply vs demand.

Third medical bodies seem to regulate the entry into the spefic fields. This doesnt happen with software engineers.

Fourth outsourcing is only catching up. Outsourcing of radiology by teleradiology (I have two radiologists in my family) is catching up. May be with telemedicine will bring globalisation to doctors 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. Now, i dont know much about IT or health security, but as far as being

    paid too much goes, my take is that you are either paid or you are

    underpaid, there is nothing like being overpaid :). Coz u can never

    define how much is too much. I think it applies to all professions. And I dont t

    think you can fix a value for a doctor’s services.

    Comment by amenaz — May 8, 2006 @ 11:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

